RegisterDonateLogin

Has good relations with the Wookiees.

Welcome Guest Active Topics | Members

Custom Makers Questions Options
Caedus
Posted: Sunday, February 26, 2017 10:37:12 AM
Groups: Member

Going to try my hand at a few customs. Recommendations for paint, glue, taking off paint without damaging mini, aaaannnnnnnnd GO!
kobayashimaru
Posted: Sunday, February 26, 2017 2:35:58 PM

@Caedus
this is good news, and it's going to be fun to make custom minis!

I am by no means a pro, and what little I've learned, I've learned by asking that same question here in the SWMinis excellent "How-to" thread,
and of everyone at coolminiornot, boardgamegeek, lead-adventure.de and W40K leagues etc.
so, definitely keep on asking questions, and when you get to be "Yoda" of SWMinis, you can 'pass on what you have learned' BigGrin

SWMinis customs are made of a couple of different vinyls, potentially also resin or other plastics if you're combining parts from several miniatures to achieve the final look - say, Heroclix + SWMinis, or 3D printed + SWMinis, or Wargames Factory etc...
so, you need to stay away from the turps and heavy oil-based paint removers.
why? these'll melt your vinyl miniature.
light acetone like such as in nail-polish remover is sufficient, as acrylic nails are very similar to the plastic some miniatures are made from.
using a cotton-bud or fresh ear-cleaner, you can lightly apply the acetone to the area until the color is removed,
and then rinse the miniature in a clean tepid water bath (inside a dedicated take-away container hehe).
this will usually not discolor your miniature, and will remove ~60-90% of the color.
It's very similar to 8-bit-guy's procedure for retrobrighting actually.
8-bit-guy reverses some of the photo-chromatic yellowing of some plastics.

changing topics to paints;
you can get away with a light primer over the top in a base color, such as GW's Citadel White or Vallejo White.