RegisterDonateLogin

That thing's operational!

Welcome Guest Active Topics | Members

Looking for suggestions on maps Options
Amadeus
Posted: Friday, February 14, 2014 10:16:47 AM
Groups: Member

Hi, I'm new to bloomilk, and I have a question about maps.

Me and a group of friends at my rez regularly play sw minis on Fridays, but the only maps I have are korriban/throneroom and the legacy of the force promo poster map. We've never used the LotF map since it wouldn't work well for the 4-6 players we usually have, and the korriban one is too open for us. We've gotten bored with the throne room one and I'm looking to pick up some maps. One issue we'd like to deal with is having long hallways be too easy to just camp with shooters, especially with mobile attack.

Anyone have some suggestions? Also if anyone knows a place to get maps fairly cheap that'd be helpful (they need to be able to ship to Canada)
FlyingArrow
Posted: Friday, February 14, 2014 11:10:49 AM
Groups: Member , Moderator

Here is the canonical map reference:

http://www.swmresources.com/downloads/MapList%20January%202013.pdf

It lists all of the maps made for SWM through January 2013. JediCartographer just released 14 new maps a couple months back and they are not listed, but everything else is. The maps are categorized as 'Restricted', 'Standard', and 'Open'. The Restricted maps are considered the most balanced for competitive play. Standard are fine, too. Usually it's just that one or two squad types get too strong of an advantage but they generally play very well for most games. Maps in the Open category tend to be more, well, open, and thus give shooters too much of an advantage. (There may be other factors at play as well, though.)

You can look there to see what maps you might like, or to see what list a particular map was placed on.

Look here to buy Star Wars maps:

http://www.miniaturemarket.com/collectible-miniatures/star-wars-miniatures/star-wars-maps.html