Yes if it's a bonus to damage received directly from a ally's CE or via an ability gained via a CE. You can still get the attack boost from the ability or CE, though.
If the commander effect has a range, even if it is unlimited range (via Booming Voice) you've got to be able to count to the commander. But you can also count to any character with Relay Orders e.g. a Mouse Droid instead. That's probably what you remember. There are also a lot of commander effects that have no range (e.g. Rieekan) and those can go through walls.
A number of years ago I went to a tournament in Jainsville WI, must have been 2013 or thereabouts. Most people were locking their commanders behind doors amd counting through calls for CE range. Does counting squares through calls count for CE or were they just doing it wrong? We always take walls into consideration but all this talk has me rethinking that experience.
As per the glossary: Whenever this character attacks an adjacent enemy, it deals an extra 10 Damage. This counts as a melee attack. This extra damage is not considered a "bonus" for the purpose of critical hits, but rather a temporary increase to the printed damage rating, so it can be multiplied by other effects.
Using my own comprehensive and perfect knowledge of all the rules, no to both questions. The Maneuver is treated similarly to Thrawn's swap, in fact - but she does have to count squares to her new spot, so no walking through walls.
SpudZ 9/17/2024 1:47:38 AM (Updated: 10/27/2025 9:05:14 PM)
by far the best mace. Paired with chagrian merc commander and mas amedda and you get a mace that can decimate unknowing opponents. not broken but a great piece, 10 from me
How does Dark Nexus work in relation to Master of the Force? For instance, if someone was crazy enough to put Tulak and a DFN in the same squad, could Tulak spend his own Force Points twice per turn (MotF) and once from the Nexus (Dark Nexus) or does Dark Nexus override Master of the Force, meaning Tulak HAS to spend this thing's FPs if he wants to spend Force twice a turn? In that case, is the Dark Nexus ability optional?
Betrayal could do it if a Leia joins your squad that way. The real reason was so that we didn't have to make multiple slightly different versions of this Camaraderie on bloomilk
I am pretty much always in the camp of "just raise the cost". That way, no one has to remember any changes in how he works. And, usually, I'm in the camp of "do nothing." Power creep in general, and direct counters as well, usually take of things on their own. However, 5 out of 6 squads that made the brackets were using Tulak... that's enough to warrant something.
I'm in the increase cost camp. Also have heard a suggestion to limit the CE to non-unique allies, which makes sense and would help some. I also think there could be a balance committee ruling preventing one piece from hopping all the way from the starting area to gambit just by using his friends' Identical Forces multiple times. There are options.
VassalCon 2025 agrees. 6 Sith squads in the field of 13. All 6 used Tulak, and after Swiss they finished 2nd through 7th, taking 5 of the 6 slots in the brackets. Both squads in the finals use Tulak.
Negative, she's letting him in via CE like The Palpatine from ROTS. Vader's Apprentice doesn't have Affinity himself so his faction does not change. Now if Juno is placed in a Rebel Squad, she becomes Rebel.
Question 1: If an ally has Damage Reduction 10 and Palps is hit for 20 damage and the absolutely devoted ally with the DR takes the damage do they take 20 or 10?
Question 2: Can you absolute devotion the damage caused by unstable clone?
Question: #1 can this character use force to reroll defender?
Question #2 can I have more than 1 of these in my squad? I don't see unique but want to make sure.
the brackets in palpatine's CE are implied in all other CEs that allow characters to spend your force points. think of it as a clarification of an invisible rule. it has to explicitly state that you can use them on the same turn and combine them if the designers want you to be able to.
^ Correct, but it’s usually explicitly stated so. See any Palpatine that has a similar CE. With this guy it doesn’t say so. But I can’t remember for the life of me if that’s intentional (as in you can), or if by DOTF it was just assumed everyone knew you can’t do that with these type of commander effects.
11/5/2025 1:04:03 AM
Yes if it's a bonus to damage received directly from a ally's CE or via an ability gained via a CE. You can still get the attack boost from the ability or CE, though.
11/4/2025 6:22:36 PM
Does Jedi Battle Armor negate CE effects for purposes of ranged buffs?
11/1/2025 1:56:01 PM
Yes. That was peak Mouse Droid season and a popular strategy to protect tech.
11/1/2025 2:01:45 AM
Try yelling "YOU SHOULD ATTACK TWICE" to a Rebel trooper through a wall and see how well it goes...
10/31/2025 7:47:00 PM
If the commander effect has a range, even if it is unlimited range (via Booming Voice) you've got to be able to count to the commander. But you can also count to any character with Relay Orders e.g. a Mouse Droid instead. That's probably what you remember. There are also a lot of commander effects that have no range (e.g. Rieekan) and those can go through walls.
10/31/2025 2:30:06 PM
A number of years ago I went to a tournament in Jainsville WI, must have been 2013 or thereabouts. Most people were locking their commanders behind doors amd counting through calls for CE range. Does counting squares through calls count for CE or were they just doing it wrong? We always take walls into consideration but all this talk has me rethinking that experience.
10/31/2025 12:04:17 PM
Correct. Placing a piece is not movement. But you can't count through walls.
10/30/2025 1:16:55 PM
Thank you!
10/30/2025 2:17:17 AM
As per the glossary: Whenever this character attacks an adjacent enemy, it deals an extra 10 Damage. This counts as a melee attack. This extra damage is not considered a "bonus" for the purpose of critical hits, but rather a temporary increase to the printed damage rating, so it can be multiplied by other effects.
10/29/2025 7:10:30 PM
Is gauntlet knife +10 damage to a normal attack, or an auto 10 damage to a target?
10/29/2025 10:35:20 AM
Using my own comprehensive and perfect knowledge of all the rules, no to both questions. The Maneuver is treated similarly to Thrawn's swap, in fact - but she does have to count squares to her new spot, so no walking through walls.
10/28/2025 10:34:24 PM
Does escape maneuver provoke an attack of opportunity?
10/28/2025 2:41:04 PM
Just to be clear, does Escape Maneuver mean she can essentially walk through walls, given there is low terrain on the other side?
9/17/2024 1:47:38 AM (Updated: 10/27/2025 9:05:14 PM)
by far the best mace. Paired with chagrian merc commander and mas amedda and you get a mace that can decimate unknowing opponents. not broken but a great piece, 10 from me
10/18/2025 1:00:10 PM
Dark Nexus isn't mandatory, but if they choose to spend Nexus Force points on a turn, they can only spend their own Force points once on that turn.
10/18/2025 9:36:02 AM
How does Dark Nexus work in relation to Master of the Force? For instance, if someone was crazy enough to put Tulak and a DFN in the same squad, could Tulak spend his own Force Points twice per turn (MotF) and once from the Nexus (Dark Nexus) or does Dark Nexus override Master of the Force, meaning Tulak HAS to spend this thing's FPs if he wants to spend Force twice a turn? In that case, is the Dark Nexus ability optional?
9/21/2025 9:40:04 PM
Haha, well, that's legit
9/21/2025 8:06:58 PM
Betrayal could do it if a Leia joins your squad that way. The real reason was so that we didn't have to make multiple slightly different versions of this Camaraderie on bloomilk
9/21/2025 2:25:39 PM
Is there a situation that would trigger her camaraderie on a character who counts as Leia?
9/14/2025 9:45:11 PM
Oh look... a definitive list of NoffyD's alts. How convenient...
9/14/2025 4:35:44 AM
as the only gandalf on this website i agree with noffy
9/14/2025 4:34:42 AM
as divine lord of this website, i also agree with noffy
9/14/2025 4:33:50 AM
as owner of the website, i agree with noffy
9/14/2025 4:18:29 AM
should remove darth and add "I used to date a Darth" (Counts as a Darth)
9/12/2025 11:24:09 PM (Updated: 9/13/2025 1:32:42 AM)
I am pretty much always in the camp of "just raise the cost". That way, no one has to remember any changes in how he works. And, usually, I'm in the camp of "do nothing." Power creep in general, and direct counters as well, usually take of things on their own. However, 5 out of 6 squads that made the brackets were using Tulak... that's enough to warrant something.
9/12/2025 2:41:53 PM
I'm in the increase cost camp. Also have heard a suggestion to limit the CE to non-unique allies, which makes sense and would help some. I also think there could be a balance committee ruling preventing one piece from hopping all the way from the starting area to gambit just by using his friends' Identical Forces multiple times. There are options.
9/12/2025 4:26:32 AM
Could remove Darth. No Nexus summon, no Rule of Two, probably knocks off a couple other things from Sith.
9/12/2025 3:34:56 AM
62 points. I bet people would still play him.
9/11/2025 6:19:03 PM
Make him not be able to use force powers / points from allies and he is fine.
9/10/2025 5:36:15 PM
VassalCon 2025 agrees. 6 Sith squads in the field of 13. All 6 used Tulak, and after Swiss they finished 2nd through 7th, taking 5 of the 6 slots in the brackets. Both squads in the finals use Tulak.
9/6/2025 7:21:38 PM
Phew. Thank goodness that was fixed in a timely manner!
9/5/2025 11:32:59 PM
Errata 12 August 2011: This character has Force Immunity
9/5/2025 6:47:37 PM
yes
9/3/2025 7:13:03 PM
If I have someone using a force power to help with initiative that still works with reasonable negotiations right?
8/22/2025 7:11:46 PM
Negative, she's letting him in via CE like The Palpatine from ROTS. Vader's Apprentice doesn't have Affinity himself so his faction does not change. Now if Juno is placed in a Rebel Squad, she becomes Rebel.
8/22/2025 5:52:41 PM
Does bringing in Imperial Vader's Apprentice make him Rebel?
8/22/2025 1:40:46 PM
Such a fun design. saw some squads with it in it and had to start thinking about this piece again. Really do enjoy the piece.
8/18/2025 9:31:46 PM
Yes to both.
8/18/2025 7:14:05 PM (Updated: 8/18/2025 7:14:48 PM)
Question 1: If an ally has Damage Reduction 10 and Palps is hit for 20 damage and the absolutely devoted ally with the DR takes the damage do they take 20 or 10? Question 2: Can you absolute devotion the damage caused by unstable clone?
8/18/2025 6:54:29 AM
is there more than one clone in this piece because why is it clones not clone
8/17/2025 11:28:55 PM
yas queen
8/16/2025 9:02:52 PM
yes.
8/16/2025 1:24:23 PM
Can you use gargoyle form and then use s force to move 2 more squares? Gargoyle 8 squares?
8/16/2025 12:20:37 AM
1: Yes. 2: No (last line of the Force Nexus ability).
8/15/2025 11:08:10 PM (Updated: 8/15/2025 11:09:44 PM)
Question: #1 can this character use force to reroll defender? Question #2 can I have more than 1 of these in my squad? I don't see unique but want to make sure.
8/15/2025 10:19:49 PM
yay that is exactly what i needed for this card to be good. will be playing this piece much more often!
8/15/2025 4:28:18 PM
Seems like his shtick is his Ghost Crew tag. I do like the old one better, especially with but not limited to using Aurra with him.
8/15/2025 3:34:34 AM
fixed the hitpoints after Jason pointed out it was 10 short of the card
8/12/2025 11:27:21 PM (Updated: 8/12/2025 11:27:59 PM)
the brackets in palpatine's CE are implied in all other CEs that allow characters to spend your force points. think of it as a clarification of an invisible rule. it has to explicitly state that you can use them on the same turn and combine them if the designers want you to be able to.
8/12/2025 10:11:23 PM
^ Correct, but it’s usually explicitly stated so. See any Palpatine that has a similar CE. With this guy it doesn’t say so. But I can’t remember for the life of me if that’s intentional (as in you can), or if by DOTF it was just assumed everyone knew you can’t do that with these type of commander effects.