RegisterDonate Login

Knows better than to trust a strange computer.

Squad Comments

Filter
Filtered By Squad #. Unfilter

Showing 1 - 50 of 41,174 Comments12345...824Next
TimmerB123
10/19/2021 8:07:52 PM

crap, well I played that wrong in my last game.
FlyingArrow
10/19/2021 7:13:41 PM

To be fair to WotC, they have it in the Bravado glossary (but not on the card). We've followed that precedent in Vsets, but we haven't always been good about including the glossary clarificaion. Many abilities don't have a glossary entry at all. I just went in and added the clarification in the comments section of the cost-related abilities that I could recall. Each ability has a comment area below its glossary.
Cassus fett
10/19/2021 5:52:25 PM (Updated: 10/19/2021 5:54:10 PM)

My bad, I’ve always assumed you use rapport cost for everything unless “printed cost” is somewhere in the description. Edit: Flying Arrow scooped me on the clarification. Udorian, Don’t worry about being confused, this is one of those messy things WOTC left the game with that we just have to live with because there is precedent.
FlyingArrow
10/19/2021 5:50:00 PM (Updated: 10/19/2021 5:52:09 PM)

Printed cost. Rapport (and other abilities that modify cost) only come into play for squadbuilding and scoring. Squadbuilding - meaning figuring out what fits into the squad. That includes deferred squadbuilding, such as Reinforcements and Reserves. Scoring - meaning what you get for killing the piece, and determining whether they meet the minimum threshold to score gambit points. Everything else uses printed cost.
Udorian84
10/19/2021 5:24:08 PM

Officially confused. So I read the thingy on Question 2. That means in the case of Gideon that you use the printed cost or the Rapport cost?
FlyingArrow
10/19/2021 3:39:27 PM (Updated: 10/19/2021 3:41:32 PM)

Rapport is used for squadbuilding (including deferred squadbuilding) and scoring (kill points and gambit-eligibility). Otherwise, abilities that compare higher/lower cost always follow the Bravado precedent and compare printed cost.
FlyingArrow
10/19/2021 3:37:45 PM (Updated: 10/19/2021 3:37:56 PM)

Question #2. https://swmgamers.com/SWM/Rules/InTheSquadGuide.pdf
TimmerB123
10/19/2021 6:15:17 AM (Updated: 10/19/2021 2:09:33 PM)

Doesn’t specify printed cost, so rapport is subtracted first.
Cassus fett
10/19/2021 1:22:29 PM

Since it doesn't specify printed cost, wouldn't you need to subtract the rapport?
Randy
10/18/2021 8:51:27 PM

The Death Trooper cannot reduce the damage with Orson's CE because he has a higher printed cost. Other than that it looks like some significant firepower.
TimmerB123
10/18/2021 5:41:47 PM

Yeah, he maxes out at +11, but you're gonna want to use that Darksaber, so likely you'll be adjacent. so he may be 50/50 against the most stout of opponents, but should hit lesser ones consistently.
Mando
10/18/2021 4:36:28 PM

Very nice! Gideon might have a tough time hitting stuff unfortunately, but you got all the other guys to do that for ya.
TimmerB123
10/18/2021 4:28:12 PM

All CEs funtional for all eligible recipients (in other words, chain of command in moot here). Mostly just independent glass cannons with double twin and damage boost(s)
TimmerB123
10/18/2021 4:25:54 PM

Sarkli has shields 2, Saxon has beskargam, and the Death Trooper can Unit Bodyguard them all and reduce damage taken from non-lightsaber attacks. Prowler in case you run into pesky cloaked, uggies take out doors that the DT didn't already take out.
TimmerB123
7/13/2021 8:46:34 PM (Updated: 10/17/2021 8:23:51 PM)

Won 2nd place in the July 2021 Regional, losing only to thereisnotry's Mando squad (twice). The combination of disruptive, triple activations after init, extra movement and overloaded grenades with rigged detonators proved too much for the buggers to overcome. I'm actually perfectly happy with that, I don't want to see more blast bugs (just like I don't want to see more Soresu Style Mastery!)
Cassus fett
10/17/2021 2:50:24 AM

I really like this. Good job.
FlyingArrow
10/14/2021 1:31:31 AM (Updated: 10/14/2021 1:32:26 AM)

I ran Kanan Cannon squads at GenCon Team Tournament in 2017 (http://www.bloomilk.com/Forums/default.aspx?g=posts&t=21829) and 2018 (http://www.bloomilk.com/Squad/190901/long-range-kanan-cannon--2018-gencon-team-tourney-winner-). I think there might be potential there to be top tier, but if so it wasn't obvious enough for me to try to push it.
Weeks
10/13/2021 11:19:08 PM

Dang, that’s way better.
FlyingArrow
10/13/2021 10:55:14 PM

The Kanan Cannon.
TheHutts
10/13/2021 7:09:39 PM

This is cool. It scales better without Dodonna - not having to squeeze in those extra 9 points helps it work better.
imyurhukaberry
10/8/2021 1:09:06 PM

I was wondering about that. From his squad picks…
Cassus fett
10/8/2021 12:13:05 PM

Klat captain isn’t going to happen. BROVVNIE only builds WOTC pure.
imyurhukaberry
10/8/2021 1:46:16 AM (Updated: 10/8/2021 1:48:36 AM)

You could put in a TBSV and give Luke GMA…maybe a Klatooinian Captain for Speed 8.
Weeks
10/7/2021 9:15:19 PM

I’m not sure if that’s better than just adding another Red Squad Ace or not but it could be useful.
TheHutts
10/7/2021 6:40:27 PM

That’s a really cool use for Lux - I haven’t really looked into him at all.
TheHutts
10/7/2021 6:37:49 PM (Updated: 10/7/2021 6:38:39 PM)

So you send your six Rodians in by themselves first? Doesn’t sound very intimidating…
TheHutts
10/7/2021 6:31:58 PM

Why wouldn’t you just use Flobi or Vader Legacy of the Force? That way you get Mas Amedda. If you’re going Sith, you should at least use Sidious Hologram.
imyurhukaberry
10/7/2021 4:20:35 PM

Keep in min that MDs have Diminutive now. (if playing by current rules) So they don't provide cover or block movement.
TimmerB123
10/6/2021 3:34:31 AM

Thanks Greg. I deleted my comments
gholli69
10/3/2021 6:18:16 PM (Updated: 10/5/2021 6:50:51 PM)

Yes, 2 holocrons is fine. They just can't both attach to the same character.
gholli69
10/5/2021 11:52:39 AM

Oops!!
Darth_Jim
10/4/2021 10:45:07 PM

LOL @ Tim!
UrbanShmi
10/3/2021 4:32:11 PM

You can.
spryguy1981
10/3/2021 3:20:34 PM

I didn't think you could have 2 holocrons in a squad but my phone won't let me pull up the glossary to check so I could wrong.
Udorian84
10/3/2021 12:58:09 PM

What's so good about the 2 holocrons?
DarkDracul
10/2/2021 8:01:01 PM

Master Thon! Nice.
imyurhukaberry
10/1/2021 8:30:15 PM

Nightsister Mother instead of Corde? Otherwise, a YVH1 with Lobot...?
Weeks
10/1/2021 1:47:19 AM

Sidgram is IMO the only thing that makes Wyyrlok playable. Getting off more than one lightning in a game makes him more useful than the 20 point Mas that he is. Freedon probably isn’t needed but I already have ways to move him around easier and he helps Revan bank force for later. I like the multiple acts at once idea. That’s a good option. I think this is more of a surgical strike type squad than an ambush one.
FlyingArrow
10/1/2021 12:04:31 AM

I'd try to fit an XT-6 in there so you are more likely to get use out of the 3 Cunning Attackers, but there really isn't anything that's easy to drop here. Maybe one of the Force batteries? Maybe drop both for Dark Force Nexus + XT-6? Or maybe just leave it as is. That's a lot of characters that will benefit from Sidiogram.
DarkDracul
9/30/2021 11:16:12 PM

Nice squad.
Cassus fett
9/29/2021 11:08:21 PM (Updated: 9/30/2021 6:46:22 PM)

Good point, I always forget just how many extra things Ysalamiri does. I suppose the intelligent maneuver here would be to drop Jagged, a pilot and the Bothan, for Lobot. That way I can grab Uggies, Buzz Droids and L.I.N. Mechs. Without the sentinel there's no need to stay faction pure. Would lose the +4 from gregarious though, so the pilots would shoot at +18, oh dear, only +18.
FlyingArrow
9/30/2021 12:47:50 AM

I don't think it's a stretch to think that Chewie had more than one.
Cassus fett
9/29/2021 11:13:30 PM

Mara Jade, Smuggler! Whoa that's a dark horse pick.
imyurhukaberry
9/29/2021 10:57:48 PM (Updated: 9/29/2021 10:58:11 PM)

Must be interesting to watch Han and Chewie throw his bowcaster back and forth! (Maybe Han finally bought his own)
Weeks
9/29/2021 10:55:54 PM

Can always count on Jim for the Bomo Greenbark shoutout.
Caedus
9/29/2021 9:11:23 PM

ABM not so much with both bubbles, but strafe, yes.
Caedus
9/29/2021 9:07:39 PM

The interaction is akin to Master Mind Meld on JM Jorus C'Boathe. They can USE the Force Power, they do not GAIN it.
Mando
9/29/2021 8:28:55 PM

Udorian is correct. I discovered the holocron interaction when i playtested this piece and it does indeed work. we talked about it during the design process and it's not overpowered because she can't do it twice per turn because of no MotF 2.
Cassus fett
9/29/2021 8:10:05 PM

181st pilots shoot at +3(Thrawn),+4(Cunning/Oppo),+4(Gregarious),+4(Squad Assault) = 22 attack. Damage is +10(Oppo/Cunning),+10(Squad firepower) = 30 (with twin). This of course assumes I Haven't grossly misunderstood stacking rules. This squad has serious issues. Strafe and ABM are probably auto losses. There were so many pieces I wanted to fit in. Sentinel Messenger, IMPGOV Tarkin, IMP Officer, and Rae Sloan being the top of that list. Oh and I did all of this because I saw Turr Phennir had only been used in a single squad.
Udorian84
9/29/2021 7:51:51 PM

The way it was explained to me is that he doesn't gain Assault. Holocron gains assault. He is using it from the holocron. He "borrows" it.
Showing 1 - 50 of 41,174 Comments12345...824Next


Please Wait...