Parry + Evade Options
jen'ari
Posted: Wednesday, August 2, 2017 4:29:17 PM
Groups: Member

I definitely forgot ahsoka
Darth_Jim
Posted: Wednesday, August 2, 2017 7:00:57 PM

I'm not a designer, I'm a player who likes to play shooter squads. When I won GenCon, I wanted to design a piece to make melee playable, because just as I believe the game shouldn't devolve into some dice-rolling rugby-like scrum in the middle of the map, it also shouldn't be a game where greater mobile shooters are popping out from behind a wall then ducking back behind it all game long. In my opinion, we don't need melee pieces that are next to impossible to hit. We need a way to get melee into the fray. If I play someone who just wants to play beefy characters but has no strategy on how to get them to the fight, then they deserve to get shot to pieces plodding their way there. The strategy in this game is getting to the fight.

Transports like I designed aren't the only way. Swap, levitate, charging attacks, master speed, mount and lift are a few ideas. Yeah, I know shooters can use those ideas as well, but I'll put my money on a melee character able to get adjacent and attack any day.

The problem, as I see it, is outactivate/smash. It doesn't matter if the major damage dealer(s) are melee or ranged, if you can't disrupt their end-round strategy, you're dead. Designers have to find a way to give options to disrupt that end-round sequence.
shmi15
Posted: Wednesday, August 2, 2017 7:11:22 PM

Obi-Kin is a bad piece... He costs 85, and is a Large? Can do.... 80? Compare that to Imp Troopers, who cost ...5? 13? and can do 60-80, while having.... 10+ of them? I'll take my chances on Obi-Kin making his SSM saves vs my mass attackers.