RegisterDonateLogin

More addictive than death sticks.

Welcome Guest Active Topics | Members

diagonal line of sight Options
jen'ari
Posted: Sunday, April 8, 2018 10:44:21 AM
Rank: Advanced Bloo Milk Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 5/3/2014
Posts: 2,050
If I am standing and the only line of sight I have is from a diagonal directly to a diagonal can I target it?



O



ll
ll << wall as well
ll
__ _____ll
X




Pretend X is my character that is trying to target O.

X has a wall on top of him and is trying to target O's top left corner from its top right corner but it cuts each square in half diagonally in half as it goes (think Slope positive 1). So is the diagonal cut considering to be touching the wall?

Can I target that piece?
shmi15
Posted: Sunday, April 8, 2018 10:49:30 AM
Rank: Advanced Bloo Milk Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/19/2010
Posts: 1,287
If I am reading this right, no, you can not
jen'ari
Posted: Sunday, April 8, 2018 11:05:26 AM
Rank: Advanced Bloo Milk Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 5/3/2014
Posts: 2,050
well heck shmi how am i supposed to you know if you are reading it right?


the definition of line of sight states "A character can see a target that it has line of sight to. Walls block line of sight. To determine line of sight, draw an imaginary line between any point in one character’s space and any point in the other character’s space. If any such line is not blocked by a wall, then the two characters have line of sight to each other. The line is clear if it doesn’t intersect or even touch walls."


so i dont think so either, just wanted to make sure. I think that by going through a diagonal it has to touch the wall.
swinefeld
Posted: Sunday, April 8, 2018 9:25:08 PM
Rank: Moderator
Groups: Member , Moderator

Joined: 1/30/2009
Posts: 6,448
Location: Southern Illinois
Your diagram is not clear to me (yeah, I know, it's text on a forum, so...)

If you cannot trace a line from any point in your square to the potential target's square without touching a wall line, you do not have LOS.

The rule book is pretty clear on that, but this might help as well.

Nickname's Line of Sight Guide
swinefeld
Posted: Sunday, April 8, 2018 9:35:30 PM
Rank: Moderator
Groups: Member , Moderator

Joined: 1/30/2009
Posts: 6,448
Location: Southern Illinois
OK, that was a hasty answer...
After re-reading your post, no. X could only target something in a square to it's right from where it stands, if you get my drift.

That guide I linked is the real deal though. WotC rules guy wrote it.
Users browsing this topic
Guest


Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Main Forum RSS : RSS

Bloo Milk Theme Created by shinja
Powered by Yet Another Forum.net.
Copyright © 2003-2006 Yet Another Forum.net. All rights reserved.