|
Rank: Advanced Bloo Milk Member Groups: Member
Joined: 4/20/2015 Posts: 1,258
|
Dovin Basal (An enemy farther than 6 squares cannot target this character or allies within 2 squares with an attack, except when combining fire; save 16 negates.)
My question is... Does the attacker have to announce that he/she/they are combining fire prior to the save 16? Meaning is it, "I am combining fire." or "I am going to attempt a save."? Or can they roll the save first and then determine what they would like to do? As I read it, it states they either combine or roll a save, not roll a save and then decide to combine fire.
That is why I ask.
Thanks in advance!!
|
|
Rank: Moderator Groups: Member
, Moderator
Joined: 5/26/2009 Posts: 8,451
|
https://swmgamers.com/SWM/Rules/ResolvingEffects.htmlI read it this way... Step 2 - Declare a target. At this time, you declare a target and make the save. If you make the save, Dovin Basal has no effect. If you fail the save, then you either agree to combine fire or the target attempt fails. Step 3 - If Dovin Basal canceled the targeting, you never reach this step. If you made the save or agreed to combine fire then resolve effects that trigger when targeted. Step 5 - Declare the attack, including combined fire. If you agreed to combine fire back in step 2, then you must combine fire in this step. I'm about 80% confident in that reading, but let gandalf make the official ruling.
|
|
Rank: Moderator Groups: Member
, Moderator
Joined: 4/30/2017 Posts: 1,005 Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand
|
The glossary entry for Dovin Basal seems to say that you target, roll the save, and then if you fail it you can decide afterwards to combine fire to prevent the attack from being cancelled. That would be in line with the resolving effects guide- you only declare combined fire after you have already resolved things that happen when you target. Quote:When an enemy farther than 6 squares targets this character or an ally within 2 squares with an attack, the attacker rolls a save. If the attacker fails to make a save of 16, the attack is canceled unless the attacker decides to combine fire. Edit: TJ posted before I finished this reply. I pretty much agree with him so that's our ruling.
|
|
Rank: Advanced Bloo Milk Member Groups: Member
Joined: 4/20/2015 Posts: 1,258
|
gandalfthegreatestwizard wrote:The glossary entry for Dovin Basal seems to say that you target, roll the save, and then if you fail it you can decide afterwards to combine fire to prevent the attack from being cancelled. That would be in line with the resolving effects guide- you only declare combined fire after you have already resolved things that happen when you target. Quote:When an enemy farther than 6 squares targets this character or an ally within 2 squares with an attack, the attacker rolls a save. If the attacker fails to make a save of 16, the attack is canceled unless the attacker decides to combine fire. Edit: TJ posted before I finished this reply. I pretty much agree with him so that's our ruling. This is how I've always played it. I just wanted to make sure that it is correct. Thank you guys!!
|
|
Rank: Advanced Bloo Milk Member Groups: Member
Joined: 8/26/2008 Posts: 608 Location: Kokomo, IN
|
It seems that you EITHER roll the save 16 OR combine fire, getting both seems terrible. If you risk it (to save the combining character(s) activation,) and miss the save, that should be the end of it and the potential to shoot forfeited.
It is a twisted if not exact situation where you get to fire at an opponent, you miss, and then you say, "I want to combine fire with ally B and ally C and my miss is now a hit." That couldn't happen.
But to get a shot at the save and THEN get to still combine fire seems like a double bonus for the attacker.
|
|
Rank: Moderator Groups: Member
, Moderator
Joined: 4/30/2017 Posts: 1,005 Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand
|
In many situations, combining fire is not possible or is at least inconvenient since you have to sacrifice the turn of another character for a mere +4 attack. So I think Dovin Basal is still a useful ability even if the attacker gets two routes to avoid it.
|
|
Rank: Moderator Groups: Member
, Moderator
Joined: 5/26/2009 Posts: 8,451
|
Interactions like this illustrate why the resolving effects list is so useful.
The save 16 is on the whole ability, and the whole ability cancels targeting, which happens in step 2. So the save has to be in step 2. If the save were later, then it's after targeting happens... and then you would have to "un-target" if it fails, which would be an absolute rules nightmare.
If Dovin Basal is not negated by the save, then it goes into effect. The effect itself allows another way out - and combined fire isn't declared until step 5, so it has to be an option that comes after the save.
|
|
Guest |