RegisterDonateLogin

Handy Tip: Frozen Bloo Milk cubes make great damage markers.

Welcome Guest Active Topics | Members

Large Battle Options
Sleuthy
Posted: Friday, October 16, 2015 8:03:37 PM
Groups: Member

Question - we're going to set up a large 3 way 2000 pt battle...I'm thinking that the commander effects will be limited to smaller 250-300 per pt squads within each Army. Or some variation of that.

But my main question is....any advice on special abilities that target "all" legal targets? Such as blaster barrage.
Has anyone encountered what to do on that...were thinking of having the special ability cap at a certain number of targets to keep some realism within the scenario....suggestions?
kobayashimaru
Posted: Friday, October 16, 2015 9:16:01 PM

great question;
for ultra large scale events, I've had some experience at 500 and 1000pts (i'd like to hear more from the folks who were at the Battle of Hoth recreation and the battle of the grassy plains recreation etc).

be prepared for it to be a 4-8hr thing,

in terms of CEs etc,
you can keep it being board wide - your commanders are going to be prime targets immediately for things like Missiles (board wide, no range hehe)
blaster barrage and impulsive shot etc,
those can attack each legal target... so, you could houserule "only 10 targets for those" beforehand, whatever you choose,
make sure everyone knows the rules before the game and be consistent in application hehe BigGrin
you can also try replacing the map grid with inches instead, and play like SW40K

I found SWRPG mass battle rules and SW40K (a variant of GW40K)
offered a quicker runtime and a little more strategy. for those ultra massive battles.

If you wanted to limit CEs, you could suggest no CE may be more than 12 squares (mouse droids and Mas Amedda count from their position also). Though, most folks'll advocate for boardwide if there's no range limit stated.

Good luck, and hopefully it runs well BigGrin
EmporerDragon