RegisterDonateLogin

If I told you half the things I've heard about this web site, you'd probably short circuit.

Welcome Guest Active Topics | Members

Counting Range to Doors Options
FlyingArrow
Posted: Friday, November 3, 2017 7:46:08 PM
Rank: Advanced Bloo Milk Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 5/26/2009
Posts: 7,226
For Firejelly, Thorium Charge, and Door Shatter (and anything else like it), when you are counting range to a door, does the door have to border the square that is in range (i.e. one of the four sides of the square) or just be adjacent to that square (i.e. if a character were in that square the door would open)?
kobayashimaru
Posted: Friday, November 3, 2017 8:45:14 PM
Rank: Advanced Bloo Milk Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/26/2011
Posts: 1,077
excellent question, and, this confuses a lot of folks new to the game at exhibition matches.
it's because the gridsquares share a boundary-line...

to my way of approaching that;
the square containing a door line (irrespective of which of the 4 faces of that gridsquare has the line)
must be within range.

It does not matter where or which boundary-gridline is closest on say
~
|x|
~
the question is moreso - "does gridsquare contain a type of boundary line: isDoor, Y or N?"
AND while "is said gridsquare |within range delimited by ability| usually x < 6: Y or N?"
we are not checking the present-status or type of boundary gridline. merely that that boundary line is there or not.

It is different than for determining LoS (Line of Sight) for stuff -
LoS uses the corner of your choosing to the corresponding corner.
LoS is also for 'targeting' etc...

Door Shatter could arguably fall more under LoS


so,
say the ability says 'adjacent', the gridsquare containing the door must be;

x x x
x 0 x
x x x
^
where 0 is the character with the ability,
and X are the adjacent squares.
it does not matter where on the 'x' gridsquare that the door is, if LoS isn't a part of it.

ie

D x x x x x 0

Above: the square containing a door-edge is denoted D, it is within 6 of 0.
note, we do not count the 'Zeroeth square', we count from the character.
whereas;
D | X x x x x x 0
is 7 squares away from 0. even though both D and CapX share the same boundary line.
one of the gridsquares will return "N" for the distance-Check part.

D
x
x
0
Above: the square containing door is D, it is also within 6 owing to diagonals being counted...


so, yes, you can door shatter an 'open door', or satchelcharge an 'open door'.
just another of the zany things of SWMinis I suppose, there's a few counter-intuitive things about how the game clunks along.
i hope this helps somewhat,
and look forward to seeing further answers.

NB, it'd be great if bloomilk allowed folks to submit images on the fly in a 'spoiler partition'/'truncation partition' or had a 'doodle/sketchpad',
so as we can visually communicate too hehe.
DarkDracul
Posted: Friday, November 3, 2017 9:43:39 PM
Rank: Advanced Bloo Milk Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/18/2008
Posts: 603
Location: Kokomo
A square in which a door occupies. (i.e. the square has door line art on one of its borders)

Count to the square with a door bordering it, not to a square adjacent to the door.

Siege Weapon demonstrates this principle as it states, "doors bordering that square," not "doors adjacent."

At least that's how I and my opponents (as far as I'm aware) have always counted range to Doors.
swinefeld
Posted: Friday, November 3, 2017 10:22:26 PM
Rank: Moderator
Groups: Member , Moderator

Joined: 1/30/2009
Posts: 6,177
Location: Southern Illinois
FlyingArrow wrote:
For Firejelly, Thorium Charge, and Door Shatter (and anything else like it), when you are counting range to a door, does the door have to border the square that is in range (i.e. one of the four sides of the square) or just be adjacent to that square (i.e. if a character were in that square the door would open)?


Pretty sure Sithborg ruled that a side of the square had to border. Normal range counting math. Ruling was probably posted here on Bloo. I'l try to find it during morning coffee if no one turns it up first.
FlyingArrow
Posted: Friday, November 3, 2017 10:45:31 PM
Rank: Advanced Bloo Milk Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 5/26/2009
Posts: 7,226
That's the way we played it but I didn't find the ruling after a search for it.
Users browsing this topic
Guest


Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Main Forum RSS : RSS

Bloo Milk Theme Created by shinja
Powered by Yet Another Forum.net.
Copyright © 2003-2006 Yet Another Forum.net. All rights reserved.