RegisterDonateLogin

Finding this site was the will of the Force, I have no doubt about that.

Welcome Guest Active Topics | Members

Metagame from 2004-2005 Options
thekamon
Posted: Monday, November 23, 2020 2:29:33 PM
Groups: Member

Hi,

A couple of my friends and I used to play during the first 3-4 expansions. Unfortunately I can't find much on what the best squads were at the time. Does anyone have any links/info to successful teams from this era? I know this is prior to a lot of the "better" figures being released, but we're interested in buying some minis and playing again.

My background is competitive tcgs, so I'm used to finding a lot of data on how metagames evolved from set 1 - current, but given the fact that SWM is dead and gone now... Makes this a little challenging.

Any help is appreciated!
TheHutts
Posted: Monday, November 23, 2020 2:58:53 PM

I've been digging around trying to find some articles - there used to be some good articles about the evolution of the metagame.

I didn't play then but I've heard that R2 being the only piece with override, along with Boba shooting, was a big deal in the Rebel Storm era.

R2 Astromech from Revenge of the Sith is still one of the elite pieces in the game, like 35 sets later.

Grand Admiral Thrawn from Universe was very significant too, although Mas Amedda with booming voice didn't come out until Champions of the Force.
adamb0nd
Posted: Monday, November 23, 2020 3:16:28 PM
Groups: Member , Moderator

TheHutts wrote:

Grand Admiral Thrawn from Universe was very significant too, although Mas Amedda with booming voice didn't come out until Champions of the Force.

That's really interesting. I joined after this. Hard to imagine the game without Mas, and swap squads with no CE extenders.

Just looking through the first 4 sets, Doombot and Aurra Sing, and thrawn stand out as the most competitive options. As Hutt's said, R2 is still an auto include for the republic faction.
TheHutts