RegisterDonateLogin

Mudhole? Slimy? Bloo Milk, it is!

Welcome Guest Active Topics | Members

Tight Security Options
TimmerB123
Posted: Sunday, January 3, 2021 3:15:05 PM
Rank: Advanced Bloo Milk Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 7/9/2008
Posts: 4,443
Location: Chicago
When does the "check" happen?

Is it like mercenary, where you check pre movement, and if no enemies are in LoS, you can move free the rest of the turn?


Or is it a constant check for the whole first phase, with every space of movement re-checked?



Example:

Player A chooses to go first after init, and nobody on his squad has LoS to player B's squad.

Player A activates Boba Fett, AFH, and starts movement. After 2 squares of movement Boba has LoS to a mouse droid.

Must he stop movement there? Or since he started movement without LoS, can he finish movement?

What if he stops to attack that mouse droid, but misses all 3 attacks. Can he mobile back or is he stuck there?

What if he kills that mouse droid? Can he continue movement?
FlyingArrow
Posted: Monday, January 11, 2021 10:12:28 AM
Rank: Moderator
Groups: Member , Moderator

Joined: 5/26/2009
Posts: 8,287
TimmerB123 wrote:
When does the "check" happen?

Is it like mercenary, where you check pre movement, and if no enemies are in LoS, you can move free the rest of the turn?


Or is it a constant check for the whole first phase, with every space of movement re-checked?


Checked with each square of movement.

Quote:
Player A chooses to go first after init, and nobody on his squad has LoS to player B's squad.

[quote]Player A activates Boba Fett, AFH, and starts movement. After 2 squares of movement Boba has LoS to a mouse droid.

Must he stop movement there? Or since he started movement without LoS, can he finish movement?


He must stop movement there.

Quote:
What if he stops to attack that mouse droid, but misses all 3 attacks. Can he mobile back or is he stuck there?

He is stuck there.

Quote:
What if he kills that mouse droid? Can he continue movement?


He can move (assuming he doesn't have line of sight to any other Hutt Cartel enemies).
FlyingArrow
Posted: Monday, January 11, 2021 10:22:08 AM
Rank: Moderator
Groups: Member , Moderator

Joined: 5/26/2009
Posts: 8,287
Some background.

"Change position" is a term that was introduced with the Vset Garm Bel Iblis as a way to capture not just movement but also swap, placement, and anything else that, well, changes a character's position. Tight Security is the first use of "changes position" in which it matters *where* a character is changing position.


Definition:
Quote:
A character changes position if it moves, is moved, enters a square, or leaves a square.


Note that movement is a subset of "changing position". The ruling for the interaction between Tight Security and Mobile Attack matches the interaction between EV-9D9 and Disruptive. A BX Droid that starts inside its own Disruptive bubble is not subject to EV-9D9's commander effect. As soon as the BX leaves the Disruptive bubble (during an Intuition move) the BX must stop movement.
TimmerB123
Posted: Monday, January 11, 2021 10:34:24 AM
Rank: Advanced Bloo Milk Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 7/9/2008
Posts: 4,443
Location: Chicago
Thank you.

Makes Jabba even more broken unfortunately
adamb0nd
Posted: Tuesday, January 12, 2021 10:05:32 AM
Rank: Moderator
Groups: Member , Moderator

Joined: 9/16/2008
Posts: 2,211
Powerful. I do question if it's broken... he's got his limitations, and folks still play Talon over Jabba.


I'm curious, do we know what the design of this SA set out to do? Is it trying to simulate something? Or prevent a certain character or type of event from occurring or abusing turn 1? With it's RAW SS, Cloak, and Stealth can all effectively make it so that your opponent can take no meaningful action on turn 1 (beyond spinning and denying the opponent a 1 activation phase). I that by design?
FlyingArrow
Posted: Tuesday, January 12, 2021 10:19:45 AM
Rank: Moderator
Groups: Member , Moderator

Joined: 5/26/2009
Posts: 8,287
adamb0nd wrote:
Powerful. I do question if it's broken... he's got his limitations, and folks still play Talon over Jabba.


I'm curious, do we know what the design of this SA set out to do? Is it trying to simulate something? Or prevent a certain character or type of event from occurring or abusing turn 1? With it's RAW SS, Cloak, and Stealth can all effectively make it so that your opponent can take no meaningful action on turn 1 (beyond spinning and denying the opponent a 1 activation phase). I that by design?


It is comparable to Master Tactician. In some ways stronger. In some ways weaker.

With Master Tactician, you always choose who goes first (unless you roll a 1).

With Tight Security, if you win init and choose who goes first it has no effect. If you lose init then your opponent has two choices. Either they choose to let you go first and Tight Security has no effect (which they may want to do anyway). Or they choose to go first themselves, in which case Tight Security kicks in.

With Master Tactician you always get to choose goes first.
With Tight Security, you make one of those choices less appealing if the opponent is choosing.
adamb0nd
Posted: Tuesday, January 12, 2021 12:29:26 PM
Rank: Moderator
Groups: Member , Moderator

Joined: 9/16/2008
Posts: 2,211
Ok, so def working as intended then. Thanks for clarifying.
TimmerB123
Posted: Sunday, January 17, 2021 7:02:15 PM
Rank: Advanced Bloo Milk Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 7/9/2008
Posts: 4,443
Location: Chicago
adamb0nd wrote:
Ok, so def working as intended then. Thanks for clarifying.


It would work as intended either way, it doesn't change that at all by this ruling.

It just takes virtually no skill to set up when it's zero time.
Caedus
Posted: Saturday, July 17, 2021 7:02:58 PM
Rank: Advanced Bloo Milk Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/20/2015
Posts: 1,066
Since Tight Security says "during the first phase of the round" does Battle Ready, Intuition, and Surprise Move get around this due to this happening before the first activation (aka before the beginning of the first phase)?
gandalfthegreatestwizard
Posted: Saturday, July 17, 2021 7:07:18 PM
Rank: Moderator
Groups: Member , Moderator

Joined: 4/30/2017
Posts: 606
Yes, they all happen before the first phase so they are unaffected.
Caedus
Posted: Saturday, July 17, 2021 7:13:01 PM
Rank: Advanced Bloo Milk Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/20/2015
Posts: 1,066
gandalfthegreatestwizard wrote:
Yes, they all happen before the first phase so they are unaffected.


Just double checking. You never knowBlink Blink
Users browsing this topic
Guest


Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Main Forum RSS : RSS

Bloo Milk Theme Created by shinja
Powered by Yet Another Forum.net.
Copyright © 2003-2006 Yet Another Forum.net. All rights reserved.