RegisterDonateLogin

The extra "o" means quality.

Welcome Guest Active Topics | Members

SWM Cube Draft Options
hector
Posted: Friday, July 1, 2022 11:51:35 AM
Groups: Member

I recently started playing the game again with my brother after a long break. We created a cube to draft from using our collection which has been a ton of fun. A cube for those that don't know is a set of cards (and in this game accompanying minis) that is curated to allow for limited play i.e. draft/sealed. Currently we are doing rainbow squads with the cube's power level being not too high. We haven't added any V-set cards yet but probably will soon. As anyone who has made a cube in other games (usually TCGs) knows, it is a learning process with tweaks being constantly made to see what works and what doesn't.

I was wondering if anyone had experimented in the past with crafted limited formats like this?
Cassus fett
Posted: Friday, July 1, 2022 3:27:11 PM

Can't say I've ever tried harder than Straight Out of the Box format when it comes to limited or draft in this game. When I played FFG's Star Wars Destiny Game we did a lot of case drafts though.
I'm sure Kobyashi will pop by and give you an exhaustive, barely understandable list of all your options.
thereisnotry
Posted: Saturday, July 2, 2022 5:53:46 AM

I don't understand this "cube" thing....

...do you stack them in a pile so that they're as tall as they are wide? And if you sleeve your cards...is it okay if your "cube" then holds less cards?

I do remember playing in a tournament where we added 1 set at a time: starting off with just RS pieces to choose from, then adding CS, then RotS, then UH, then CotF, etc, etc. It was a lot of fun. If you want a limited pool of characters to choose from then I'd highly recommend that.
kobayashimaru
Posted: Saturday, July 2, 2022 6:04:18 AM

@CassusFett
I see my reputation precedes me LOL
Compositions? Check. "Cube" Check. SWMinis? Check.