RegisterDonateLogin

More useful than 90% of Rebel Storm.

Welcome Guest Active Topics | Members

Dovin Basal Keeper *Gandalf official rules-type request* Options
Caedus
Posted: Sunday, June 15, 2025 1:40:47 PM
Rank: Advanced Bloo Milk Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/20/2015
Posts: 1,257
Dovin Basal (An enemy farther than 6 squares cannot target this character or allies within 2 squares with an attack, except when combining fire; save 16 negates.)


My question is... Does the attacker have to announce that he/she/they are combining fire prior to the save 16? Meaning is it, "I am combining fire." or "I am going to attempt a save."? Or can they roll the save first and then determine what they would like to do? As I read it, it states they either combine or roll a save, not roll a save and then decide to combine fire.

That is why I ask.

Thanks in advance!!
FlyingArrow
Posted: Sunday, June 15, 2025 5:36:35 PM
Rank: Moderator
Groups: Member , Moderator

Joined: 5/26/2009
Posts: 8,448
https://swmgamers.com/SWM/Rules/ResolvingEffects.html

I read it this way...

Step 2 - Declare a target. At this time, you declare a target and make the save. If you make the save, Dovin Basal has no effect. If you fail the save, then you either agree to combine fire or the target attempt fails.

Step 3 - If Dovin Basal canceled the targeting, you never reach this step. If you made the save or agreed to combine fire then resolve effects that trigger when targeted.

Step 5 - Declare the attack, including combined fire. If you agreed to combine fire back in step 2, then you must combine fire in this step.

I'm about 80% confident in that reading, but let gandalf make the official ruling.
gandalfthegreatestwizard
Posted: Sunday, June 15, 2025 6:12:42 PM
Rank: Moderator
Groups: Member , Moderator

Joined: 4/30/2017
Posts: 1,001
Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand
The glossary entry for Dovin Basal seems to say that you target, roll the save, and then if you fail it you can decide afterwards to combine fire to prevent the attack from being cancelled. That would be in line with the resolving effects guide- you only declare combined fire after you have already resolved things that happen when you target.

Quote:
When an enemy farther than 6 squares targets this character or an ally within 2 squares with an attack, the attacker rolls a save. If the attacker fails to make a save of 16, the attack is canceled unless the attacker decides to combine fire.


Edit: TJ posted before I finished this reply. I pretty much agree with him so that's our ruling.
Users browsing this topic
Guest


Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Main Forum RSS : RSS

Bloo Milk Theme Created by shinja
Powered by Yet Another Forum.net.
Copyright © 2003-2006 Yet Another Forum.net. All rights reserved.